CheckTheRhyme Dec 20th: Sandy Rock Investigation, InstaGate, and Twitter Proposal

Snapshot_20121219

Today, on my “Check The Rhyme” segment I elaborate more on the Sandy Rock Massacre that took place on Friday, December 14, 2012 in Newtown, Connecticut. We know there were 26 people, There were 20 children and 6 adults killed. On Sunday, President Barrack Obama addressed the nation during the New England Patriots and San Francisco 49ers. Now, policy makers and citizens are looking into creating stricter gun policies to prevent a tragedy like this will never happen again. I think the gun policy should have been examined by our policy makers a long time ago. I’m thinking to myself how many people have to die in order for change to take place? Meanwhile, I did expressed how upset I was with my fellow journalists this week. As I have said many times before, I am graduate of a journalism program here in  my hometown. It really boiled my blood to see journalists interview children who witnessed the horrible actions that took placed. I mean really, are you that desperate to get a story. I thinking to myself,  where are your ethics? You know the class you had to sit through in order to graduate. I did commend Anderson Cooper on taking a stance not to interview children. In my opinion, gun policy is a serious topic and should be taken into account but what about mental illness? Most of these cases, some of the killers either a mental issue or have suffered traumatic experience in their lifetime. It seems like no one wants to reach out to them and help their situation. Hopefully, we can see some change before it’s too late. Also, this week Instagram changed their terms and conditions. They decided to advertise on Instagram but the rumor mill was they were going to sell your photos without compensation. So, everybody on instagram went bat s**t crazy. Celebrities like Lance Gross, Kevin Hart and even Kim Kardashian voiced about leaving the popular app because of changes that is due to take effect on  Jan 16th.  Instagram responded:

“Our intention in updating the terms was to communicate that we’d like to experiment with innovative advertising that feels appropriate on Instagram. Instead it was interpreted by many that we were going to sell your photos to others without any compensation. This is not true and it is our mistake that this language is confusing. To be clear: it is not our intention to sell your photos. We are working on updated language in the terms to make sure this is clear.” (VIA CBS)

Everybody responded on Instagram with the hashtag #DontWhoreMeOut announcing their discontent to new policy changes. We will see how this plays out. I am just waiting on the creation of SkyNet!!! Also in other news, Amy Whinehouse death case will be reopened soon. Dallas Cowboys won over the Pittsburgh Steelers with a score of 27-24 during overtime. GO COWBOYS!!! I AM COWBOY ON “STEEL HORSE I RIDE!!!!. Sorry, I had a crazy fan moment.  There might be possibility of All My Children and One Life To Live may come back on. *fingers crossed to bring back Erica Kane*. Deadmau5 proposed to Kat Von D over Twitter. I know I could not believe it either. We will see how this twitter proposal plays out. Best luck to the both of them. Rihanna steals the spot on my top jams for week with her song titled “Numb” featuring Eminem.

Inspirational Thought

“Failure and Fear ends today. On this day, you activate your faith.”

QUESTION FOR TODAY:

Due to the recent tragedy, what area should the government focus on gun control, school security procedures, mental health care, or implementation of religious practices (prayer in the schools)????

Answer it in the comments section below….Thanks

Related Articles:

http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-505124_162-57560296/instagrams-answers-dont-cover-the-biggest-issue/

http://jennielately.wordpress.com/2012/12/19/priorities-what-bothers-me-the-most-about-the-newtown-tradegy/

http://shootingfromthehipblog.com/2012/12/14/living-in-a-word-they-didnt-make/

http://religion.blogs.cnn.com/2012/12/18/my-take-six-things-i-dont-want-to-hear-after-the-sandy-hook-massacre/

Leave a Reply

